Student. Educator. Artist.

Taylor Jane Dickison

Welcome to my website. I'm from Brazil, Indiana, and I'm a senior at Indiana State. I'm majoring in Art Education with a minor in Psychology. My career goal? Impact kids every day and enjoy it along the way. I also would love to get into interior design and/or planning someday. Maybe this could be my summer income? Perhaps.

White Paint
Restorer Using Scalpel
Tube of Blue Paint
Cleaning Ceramic
Kids Drawing

Why I Choose Education

Ever since I was young, I always had a knack for the arts. I enjoyed it, I excelled at it, and I most certainly looked forward to it in school. Coincidentally, I always said I wanted to be a teacher as well. My grandmother was a secretary, so I think I was really just trying to follow in her footsteps. As the years went on, I realized that teaching was a perfect fit for me. Of course I want my summers off, and I love the idea of having similar schedules to my future children. But, I like to think that I'm good with instruction (both giving and receiving). I was always that person in school that helped those who were struggling with the material during class. So one day a couple years back I decided to change my major to Education. I originally went for Social Studies Ed. because I really enjoy Psychology and Economics. However, I found myself dreading the classes and realized that my best chance at being happy was to switch to Art Education. Teaching art is really a combination of career and passion, which I think is brilliant. As far as being an educator, I still have a lot to learn. Ultimately, my goal is to positively influence and impact each of my students' lives. Learning art may not boost scores on standardized tests, but it certainly develops levels of thinking that are applicable to life in general. That is the take home message. You don't have to be good at creating art to benefit from it. In short - I want to teach art because it benefits students, which benefits the society.


A Bit About Me

First off, I've lived in Indiana my whole life. Someday I'd like to move to Tennessee, but I'm starting to think that dream is years away. The main reason? My boyfriend of two years. He manages a store in Brazil, and eventually he will take over ownership. This makes it difficult to move out of state, or really too far from town. It's kind of a "you can't have your cake and eat it too" situation. I am the youngest and only daughter of six. I know what you're thinking... six?! Technically, I only have one 'real' brother, and the rest are step siblings. However, both of my parents remarried about 15 years ago, so all of my brothers have been considered just family to me. I am probably the biggest animal person you'll ever meet, and I have an even greater love for dogs. I can't resist a furry friend. Something that I love/hate about myself... I'm a perfectionist in about every aspect of life. It can be useful, but it can definitely be stressful. I love coffee and it has become a part of my daily routine. Side note: I moved out of my parent's house for the first time in my life this year, and I have to say... being an adult is a lot harder than it looks. Anyway, my day-to-day schedule is never dull. Other than school, I work and then come home and work some more. I basically have three jobs: student, employee, and housewife. Welcome to my life.



Get in touch with me for more information about my blog or just to say hello. I’d love to hear from you.


Thanks for submitting!